Any rec's for UPS battery backup for modem/router?

I had no idea there are so many on the market. Most lay claim to keeping power to your computer in a power failure long enough to save your data and shutdown.

But all I want is to power my comcast modem for an hour or two. During the recent house power loss [xformer blew up in front of my house] my computer noted I still had four hours of battery life. But with out the comcast modem, that’s useless.

Any company rec’s? I’ve heard APC is good. Yes/no ?

I don’t know how it compares to any others, but I bought an APC probably ten years ago, and it’s been fine. It only powers my modem and router. The only time it ever died before the power came back on was when the power was out for about six hours. I recently had to replace the battery, and I think I paid about $25 for the replacement on walmart.com.

I am an electrical contractor I have been doing commercial work since the early 1990s. Most of the units I have seen being used are APC, CyberPower, and Tripp Lite. We have, on occasion, had to replace the batteries or the complete units. I have not noticed any issues from any of those three.

You might want to consider getting in touch with the technical support department of any of those three companies. They would probably be willing to go over what you are looking for and recommend what they feel would best suit you.

UPS may not be the answer you are looking for. I have a portable Honda generator for power outages. I can run a refrigerator, lights and electronic equipment. I find my internet is always out during power outages even when I power up the modem/router. Something upstream from me also needs power and that is always also out. I use the mobile hotspot on my phone to get on the internet during these occurrences. But your situation may be different and may be different depending on how widespread the power outage is.

1 Like