Which tax software is best?

I’ve been using taxact for a few years which has been ok but am curious if people think turbotax or other software is better. What do you use and why?

I think that depends on how complex your situation is…

This is my kids first tax filing year and we are using Cash App Taxes. Its free for the Federal and State returns and is a perfect choice for his situation.

Mine are not that complicated but i do now have a k1 form i need to fill out due to a trust past down to me when my wealthy grandfather died a few years ago. Its great to have the extra income but its all taxable unfortunately.

1 Like

I’ve used TurboTax Premier for years. It’s thorough and easy to use.

If you have investment income and rentals it’s a good choice.

1 Like

My taxes are more intricate, usually involving stocks, Schedule C small business, Schedule F Farm and Net Operating Loss Carry Forwards Decades ago I had a Tax guy do my complicated taxes which involved separating my business from personal items and assigning costs to preparation of land for crops, etc. He was from H&R block. I had been using Taxcut which is the same software he used, except he probably had a different version.

Prior to the next years taxes, I bought that years Taxcut and the coming year versions. I was able to easily put all his numbers into that version and then import it into the next year to continue filing myself.

I found one oddity. I was able to duplicate his numbers except one entry he reversed the fractions of a dollar on an item (54 cents vrs 45 cents) so there was a 9 cent difference. The software rounds up and down anyway.