Thank you Credit Karma for being so terrible

I’ve been budgeting with Mint for 14 years. They are having customers switch to Credit Karma. It is truly terrible IMO. It’s a website to sell you credit cards and loans, not to budget. So I tried YNAB. I tried it in the past and couldn’t wrap my brain around it and gave up. I tried it again out of desperation and something clicked this time in my mind. It is a billion times better than Mint ever thought of being. It’s basically a digital form of the cash-envelope method and you assign a job for every dollar that you have. I tried it for the first month and have never done so well sticking to my budget and saving so much money. Plus, I can save a little each month for those annual expenses, instead of being caught flat-footed by them. YNAB is $99/year, but for me that will quickly pay for itself in how it has shifted my mindset.

1 Like

You are so correct. CK’s prime goal seems to be selling credit cards.

I use credit karma to check/track my credit score; I ignore their “offers”

For budgeting/income/expense tracking, I use an Excel spreadsheet.

Many online banks offer free credit score and monthly spending summary for years. I no longer see the need to use Credit Karma.

Glad you like it. I bought YNAB just before they switched to a subscription model, and have been using it for 10 years. I like it. I might even pay $99/yr for it at this point if I had to.

Oh man! I’m sad I missed that boat. It’s incredibly powerful budgeting software and will be worth the cost for us. I’ve used spreadsheets along side mint, because Mint was not exactly a really good budgeting software. (I used to copy and paste the transactions from Mint into the spreadsheet.) But it just doesn’t compare to YNAB.

Excel spreadsheet, works great for me

1 Like

Ramsey has a free (and paid) budget called Every Dollar. I used it briefly and it seemed pretty decent. I don’t use an app anymore, hence, the briefly.