Phil Rosen: "We should advocate for trade schools just as much as college, especially after a pandemic"

Completely agree.
As a former HS teacher, I saw too many students that were being force-fit into college/academics – by their parents, by staying in classes with their friends, and by what the school offered (fewer ‘trades’ classes).
And high schools jumped on the band wagon – getting rid of automotive, shop, home ec, and arts classes. Everything was about college, and bragging about college (students, parents, school).
The vo-tech high schools near me have come a long way, and a number of the students who attend still opt for college afterwards, but they can also do a trade. The problem is – there aren’t enough spots to accommodate them. Regular schools need more shop-type classes.
Also - a number of badly-behaved students would probably do better at the vo-tech school, but sadly, won’t get accepted because of bad behavior.
It’s been a real disservice to many students.

Considering what plumbers, electricians, mechanics, pipe fitters, welders, etc., earn, then yes, vo-trade schools needs to be celebrated and encouraged.

2 Likes

Yesterday I had a Sheet Metals Workers union official in as a patient. They have been short workers for these nice-paying jobs for quite a while.

She said they are going into high schools and convincing young people NOT to go to colleges, but instead to become apprentices. They do a financial comparison showing how much time the college debt will take to pay off, and the value of the oppotunity cost of parking one’s arse in college for 4 years instead of working.

But to be fair, but of the problem was liability associated with letting students do things that could potentially cause serious injuries. Plus making sure tools did not walk out of the classroom.