CD's or Treasury Bills?

Novice here. Only have Target Retirement accounts thus far. Thinking of investing $50000 for 11 months in Capitol CDs for 5% rate. Is it safe to do so on the Bank rate site? Will they automatically roll over? Or what kind of Treasury Direct investment would be better? I have none there so far.

I’m doing both I-Bonds and 1-yr CDs. My local credit union has 5% 1-year CDs.

Blockquote
Thinking of investing $50000 for 11 months in Capitol CDs for 5% rate. Is it safe to do so on the Bank rate site? Will they automatically roll over? Or what kind of Treasury Direct investment would be better?

The 5% yield of the 11 month Capital One 360 CD is slightly higher than the recent 1 year Treasury Bill yield of 4.79%. Will your $50,000 be in retirement accounts or taxable accounts? There is no state taxation on Treasury bills.

If you decide on Capital One CDs, consider investing directly through Capital One. Per Capital one “The account will automatically renew at maturity for a time period equal to the original term. The interest rate for each renewal term will be the rate currently offered on the maturity date” Make sure to check rates for other cash equivalents before a Capital One CD account has matured.

For further information on Treasury Bill yields you can go to the Treasury direct site or the Ycharts’ site. The yields for various .0durations are at the bottom right-hand side of the page.

Your explanation was clear and helpful. I’m a little confused about the difference between an I bond and a treasury bill.

I bonds can only be bought thru Treasury Direct and are incredibly illiquid as only the first six months is guaranteed. You are unable to sell I-Bonds for 1 year