Which debt should I try to eliminate first with extra cash?

Here is the situation: I have a surplus of savings (beyond emergency fund) in a basic savings account, which is due to recent promotions for my wife and myself in the past couple of years. We already do well with retirement contributions and both jobs have pension programs (teacher and local government employee). We have 2 items of debt: mortgage ($73,000 at 3.67% (20 years)) and students loans. The students loans on NelNet break down as the following:
$12,700 at 3.86%
$12,300 at 4.29%
$12,600 at 4.66%
$15,000 at 5.31%

Which debt should I attack first with this extra cash? Or should I make minimum payments and do some kind of investing? My gut says I would feel much better taking out some of the student loans, but my brain says investing would be better, but not sure how?
Advice? All critiques and advice welcome, obviously I’m an amateur, thanks!

I am not qualified to make a financial recommendation, but can address the emotional aspect. Wife said paying off the house and totally owning it, was the second happiest day of her life. I have pics of her happily holding the deed in her hand.

2 Likes

If you’re already doing OK with retirement contributions (but we don’t know how far you are from retirement, how old you are, how much you have saved for retirement, etc) then I would get rid of the student loans first. You can pick the lowest balance one first to focus on and pay minimums on the others, then when that one is paid off, go to the next lowest one and repeat until all gone.

You can also do the same process but attack the one with the highest interest rate first (that’s probably what I’d do, actually). In the end, it will make little difference in the total paid. So, get 'er done.

You have just over $50k in student loans. How long will that take you to pay off if you focused on it?

1 Like