What recourse do I have as seller when buyer of my house decides not to close?

The buyer is paying with cash. Inspection period is over. There is an escrow deposit. What can I do if buyer decides not to close? I am concerned that buyer has changed his mind. The contract says that we go to mediation to resolve first. Contract says if buyer fails to close, he loses the escrow money. For example, if he contracted to buy at $300,000 and does not close. The house sells at $200,000 six months later, can we sue him for the $100,000 difference?

I am not a real estate lawyer…but we have been doing real estate investing for a long-time. I believe you will find the contract stipulates that the forfeiture of Escrow is considered liquidated damages. The Purchase & Sale contracts are state specific so your agent should be able to advise you. There is no chance you could sue the buyer for opportunity cost.

I am not a lawyer, I spent 12 years as a RE broker.

If you and your Buyer signed a contract you may be able to pursue them under contract law under “specific performance” provisions. Kinda like the Twitter vs Elon Musk thing that is going on right now.

But… it’s probably best to settle for the earnest money deposit and move on. Suits for specific performance in RE transactions are rare.

Next time you accept an offer remember… “more time to closing ALWAYS means LESS chance of closing.” A cash offer should close as soon as you can provide marketable title to the Buyer. An inspection should be cleared within a few days of the offer and it’s contingency removed ASAP.

In real estate “time is of the essence.”… always.

1 Like