How much should a couple pay for Wills, etc

How much should a married couple pay for two Wills, two Powers of Attorney, and two Healthcare Powers of Attorney? Between us we only have our two adult children, no other heirs. Ideas?

1 Like

I’m an attorney, but don’t work in the area of estate planning. I have absolutely no idea how to pick an attorney for this or how much it should cost. Some people might tell you to just interview a few attorneys, but you won’t be able to tell much about the quality of their work from that interaction. You should still do that so that you will be comfortable working with the attorney, but don’t expect to be able to pick the best one for the job based on that.

I can tell you that cost has little relation to quality in my area of practice. I presume it’s the same in estate planning.

$2K to $5K… with a trust… less w/o a trust.

Ouch. For that much I would expect a great deal of customization and support. I thought it would be less, like $1000.

Around here (greater Charleston, SC), I recall ads for something like $295 for a simple will, Healthcare POA and living will package. I assume that’s a loss leader to get people in the door.

We also have tons of ads on TV from ambulance chasers. I have a hard time believing there is that much personal injury business.

I think that answer is dependent on how complicated your estate is …

1 Like

Ours is simple

This is NOT advise, but seems like 2 simple Wills, Medical and Durable POAs should do the trick, but you will have to go through probate. That shouldn’t be more than $1k to setup. I have not use Will Maker but maybe this will suffice ?

It’s possible to write your own simple will, but it may be worthwhile to have a lawyer review it or do some serious legal learning.

One thing I ran into with beneficiaries and wills – the idea of “per stirpes”, which I had never heard of.